Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Undercover Secretary: Based on a true story, an unputdownable and heartbreaking World War Two novel

The Undercover Secretary: Based on a true story, an unputdownable and heartbreaking World War Two novel

Regular price K198
Regular price K242 Sale price K198
Sale Sold out

Author: Midwood, Ellie

Binding: Paperback

Number Of Pages: 262

Release Date: 16-01-2023

Details: France, 1942. “With tremendous effort, I forced myself to hold his gaze. My heart was thrashing inside my chest like a bird battering its wings. The room was suddenly devoid of air. Time itself stood still. They knew who I was. They knew what I’d done.” This heartbreaking World War Two page-turner tells the incredible true story of Dora Schaul, one of history’s most courageous women.

It was a misty Wednesday morning. Inside the Gestapo headquarters, you could cut the tension with a knife. There was a traitor in their midst: someone had leaked a list of the SS to the British press.

The head of the Gestapo called me into his office. Panelled oak walls, a grand piano in the corner, rugs lining the floor—the place where he ordered executions every day.

I sat at the desk, reaching for the typewriter and adjusting the paper. On the wall, the clock ticked loudly.

He stood over me; I could almost feel his breath on my neck. “I don’t know where the leak came from. Do you?” he asked.

I couldn’t stop my hands from trembling. I was sure he could hear the thrashing of my heart.

Because I wasn’t just a secretary: I was an undercover Jewish girl. The person who fetched them tea, typed their letters, and made them laugh was their enemy. And my day of reckoning had arrived…

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network, and The Lilac Girls will be utterly swept away by this emotional page-turner about the brave woman who risked her life every day by coming face-to-face with enemy—the monsters who killed her loved ones.

Readers love Ellie Midwood:

“AMAZING read! I loved this so much!… Sensational… One of the most inspiring love stories of all time… HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND. 100% 5 STARS!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Oh, my heart!… Beautiful, chilling, terrifying, and hopeful… Midwood is a wonder with words––I am so in love… I cried, so have tissues at the ready!… I loved every second!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Soul-wrenching… I have been through boxes of Kleenex… Even writing this review, I have tears.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I absolutely loved it!!!… Amazing. It was so beautifully written… Amazingly well done.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“One of the few books that have left me reeling for days. Talk about having a book hangover!… I smiled, I sighed with relief, I held my breath, I cried. This book gave me all the feels and chills. Hands down, a five-star must-read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I can officially report that my tear ducts have run completely and utterly dry… Shattered my heart.” Notablenoveles, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Wow! Just wow… Utterly heartbreaking… I’m speechless.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Phenomenal! Absolutely brilliant! This book requires a standing ovation for sure!… Crushingly heartbreaking yet beautiful.” Battle of the Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I picked up this book this morning thinking I would read for half an hour before I dealt with life for the day. Next thing I know, it’s seven hours later, I’ve got tears streaming down my face and the book is finished.” Apageofwordsandwishes, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I loved this book so much!! Both beautiful and heartbreaking… I was hooked.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

EAN: 9781837900459

Package Dimensions: 9.6 x 7.9 x 0.7 inches

Languages: English

Product features

Materials and care

Merchandising tips

View full details
Your cart
Product Product subtotal Quantity Price Product subtotal
The Undercover Secretary: Based on a true story, an unputdownable and heartbreaking World War Two novel
The Undercover Secretary: Based on a true story, an unputdownable and heartbreaking World War Two novel1837900450
The Undercover Secretary: Based on a true story, an unputdownable and heartbreaking World War Two novel1837900450
Regular price
K242
Sale price
K198/ea
K0
Regular price
K242
Sale price
K198/ea
K0